⚠️ STAY INFORMED! Visit the SA Department of Health’s website for COVID-19 updates.  CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO.

Board Members

1Dr. Malefetsane Peter Ngatane - Chairperson
Dr. Malefetsane Peter Ngatane, BSc MBBch, FCOG is a Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, as well as superintendent at the Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital. Dr. Ngatane also served as the head of obstetrics and gynecology at Natalspruit Hospital. Dr. Ngatane is the chairman of the South African Boxing Commission and is the medical director of Boxing South Africa. He serves on the board of governors of the World Boxing Council and is the vice-president of the African Boxing Union. He serves as treasurer for the International Planned Par Parenthood Federation in Nairobi and is a trustee of the Commonwealth Boxing Council based in London. He has been a Non-Executive Independent Director of Life Healthcare Group Holdings Limited since July 25, 2007. He serves as a Director of Life Healthcare Group Holdings (Proprietary) Limited, Business Venture Investments No. 813 (Proprietary) Limited, Business Venture Investment No. 931 (Proprietary) Limited, Pekwa Investment (Proprietary) Limited, ARTPAC Lending Services (Proprietary) Limited, International Planned Parenthood Federation, Commonwealth Boxing Council, Dr. M P Ngatane Inc., Ngatane Enterprises CC and Thamall Medical Consultants (Proprietary) Limited. He has been Director of Life Healthcare Group (Proprietary) Limited since July 2007. Dr. Ngatane served as a Director at Life Impilo (Proprietary) Limited Resigned and Institute for Democracy in Africa. Dr. Ngatane is a specialist obstetrician and gynecologist.
2Ms. Zandile Matilda Kabini

Also Chairperson:
Women in Boxing Committee,
Finance, ICT & Resource Mobilisation Committee

Zandi Kabini holds the following Qualifications: B Com (Informatics), BCom (Hons) Informatics, Diploma in Business Analysis, Management Development Programme and a number of Corporate Governance certificates from the Institute of Directors South Africa (IODSA). Zandi is employed by Eskom in their Strategy Support Division. As an ICT professional she has vast experience in ICT sector providing Business and Management advisory through consultation within Government (National, Provincial, Local and SOEs). She serves on the Audit Committee of the Department of Sport and Recreation (SRSA), ICT Steering Committee of the National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NRCS) and the Board of Boxing SA (BSA). She has recently been appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Broadband Infraco (BBI).

3Mr. Gilberto Pereira Martins
A highly experienced Proffessional within the Public and Private infrastructure sector (Architect), the Deputy Director General and Chief Operations Officer focused on strategic leadership and management in pursuit of driving organizations to new heights, at the same time delivering on government prioroties, who has demonstrated the ability to lead diverse teams of Executive and senior managers and professionals to new levels of success in a range of services with social impact developments and delivery as per the mandate of the respective National or Provincial Departments and large private sector organizations. Strong track record of more than 24 years ( Senior Managers 10 years, Executive management 14 years) of hands on experience in Strategic Planning, Development and Implementation of outcome driven Turnaround strategies, Re-engineering of Procurement processes, “Business Unit” development, Project and Program Monitoring and Evaluation System Management,Financial Management and Scenario Planning both in the Public and Private sector. Proven ability to successfully analyse organization’s critical mandate delivery requirements, identify deficiencies and potential opportunities, and develop innovation and cost-effective solutions for improving service delivery, enhancing competitiveness, ensure value for money, and improving community impact delivery. Proven track record of integration of Departmental Mandate and programs with Governments identified priorities, implementation of Turnaround Strategies and outputs linked to the National Development Plan and the National Infrastructure Plan to contribute to social cohesion and development.
4Mr. Khulile Radu
5Ms. Letlhogonolo Noge -Tungamirai
Letlhogonolo is an experienced business strategic advisor, who assists businesses to shape their requirements to meet their business goals. She understands what organisations are looking for to creatively increase revenue, improve customer satisfaction while maintaining growth in tough economic times. In addition to her industry experience, particularly in Information Technology and Human Capital, she's also building experience in corporate governance and board practices. She holds an MBA from Wits Business School, and is a member of the Institute of Directors and currently serves on the board for the Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA).
6Mr. Luthando Phillip Jack
Jack has an impressive list of qualifications, including his National Diploma in Public Management & Administration (1998) from Eastern Cape Technikon, his BTech degree in Public Management (2003) from the former Port Elizabeth Technikon, his Master’s Degree in Commerce with a specialisation in Leadership Studies (2012) from the University of KwaZulu-Natal, and, most recently, his Bachelor of Philosophy in Information and Knowledge Management (2014) from Stellenbosch University. He began his career in 1999 as a Student Development Officer at the erstwhile Eastern Cape Technikon, going on to occupy positions that included Institutional Planner, Head of Transformation and Merger Manager. At the formation of Walter Sisulu University in 2005, he was appointed as Interim Director: Institutional Research and Planning and, in 2008, took up the Directorship of that department. From 2009 to 2011, he was appointed on a secondment basis to the position of Chief Risk Officer and Transformation Manager. During his time at Walter Sisulu University, he developed the WSU Transformation Charter and the WSU Student Life Turnaround Strategy, and facilitated the development of a WSU Management-Labour Charter, among others. He took up his appointment at ECSECC in October 2011.