BSA Mission

The mission of Boxing South Africa (BSA) is the effective and efficient administration and regulation of professional boxing, by: ensuring and safeguarding the health, safety and general well-being of professional boxers; promoting, marketing and sanctioning quality boxing events and tournaments to increase the sport's popularity with athletes, supporters and sponsors; credible rating boxers and training licensees; positioning Boxing South Africa as a point of reference for international sanctioning bodies in South Africa and ensuring that BSA fulfils its role as a custodian of the best interests and concerns of all South African boxers at home and on the international front; improving the stature of national and provincial titles; and coordinating the activities of all boxing stakeholders in the country for the purposes of unifying the sporting codes and managing their expectations with integrity.

BSA Mandate

Boxing SA's statutory mandate is to: give effect to the provisions of the Constitution; regulate, control and exercise general supervision over professional boxing at tournaments in the country; protect and regulate the interests and organizational rights of boxers, trainers, managers, promoters, officials and stakeholders involved in professional boxing matters; and promote orderly collective action, boxing in the country, and the effective resolution of boxing disputes.

BSA Background

Boxing SA is a juristic boxing commission established in terms of Section 4 of the South African Boxing Act, 11 of 2001. It began operations in 2002 May 25th under the new board appointed by the then Minister of Sport and Recreation Min. Ngconde Balfour. The Board members consisted of Dr Peter Ngatane, Mr Siphato Handi, Mr Archie Jonas, Ms Violet Magwaca, Mr Sipho Pityana, Mr Jacob Matlala and Mr Stan Christodoulou under the chairmanship of Mr Mthobi Tyamzashe.

When the 3-year term of the said Board expired, the Minister of Sport and Recreation Rev. Makhenkesi Stofile appointed Dr Peter Ngatane, Mr.Siphato Handi, Mr Sakhiwe Sodo, Mr.Alan Norman, Mr Stompie Xulu, Ms Violet Magwaca and Adv. Dali Mpofu was appointed to chair this Board.